Man Asian Literary Prize winners

The Man Asian Literary Prize was an annual literary award between 2007 and 2012, given to the best novel by an Asian writer, either written in English or translated into English. The last year the prize was awarded was for books published in 2012.

2007 Jiang Rong . Wolf Totem (狼图腾). Translated from Chinese by Howard Goldblatt
Lü Jiamin is a Chinese writer better known by his pseudonym Jiang Rong. He is married to fellow novelist Zhang Kangkang. [See our review]

2008 Miguel Syjuco. Ilustrado
Miguel Syjuco is a Filipino writer from Manila. Ilustrado is his first novel .

2009 Su Tong. The Boat to Redemption (河岸). Translated from Chinese by Howard Goldblatt
Su Tong is the pen name of Chinese writer Tong Zhonggui. He was born in Suzhou and lives in Nanjing.

2010 Bi Feiyu. Three Sisters (玉米). Translated from Chinese by Howard Goldblatt and Sylvia Li-chun Lin
Bi Feiyu is a Chinese writer whose works are known for their complex portrayal of the "female psyche." He also wrote the screenplay for Zhang Yimou's 1996 film Shanghai Triad.

2011 Shin Kyung-sook. Please Look After Mom (엄마를 부탁해). Translated from Korean by Chi-young Kim
Kyung-sook Shin is a South Korean writer born in 1963.

2012 Tan Twan Eng. The Garden of Evening Mists.
Tan Twan Eng (陳團英) is a Malaysian novelist born in Penang in 1972.